Why the European Union was created ?

Brexit, economic or migratory crisis… everything is not going well in the European Union. Faced with current events, perhaps you too are questioning its necessity and its functioning? This short video explains in a simple way how and why the European Union was created.

It all began in 1950 with an economic agreement between Germany and France around two abundant resources in Europe: coal and steel. One year later, the premise of the European Union was born as the ECSC (European Coal and Steel Community) with 6 members: Germany, France, Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Italy.

The member countries work hard for the economic revival of their countries and it works rather well and from their successes are born two tools of collaboration: EURATOM and the EEC (European Economic Community). The EEC was later renamed the European Commission.

Seeing the beneficial effects of cooperation, other countries were soon added to this alliance: Denmark, Ireland, the United Kingdom in 1973 as well as Greece, Spain and Portugal in 1985.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall (1989), everything accelerated. In 1992, the European Union created a common currency: the Euro. Between 1995 and 2004, 13 countries joined the EU until it had 28 members in 2016, then 27 with the exit of the United Kingdom (Brexit).

Share this video

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

More To Explore